Trip planning: Iceland

Thermal base layers are bought. New winter boots are broken in. Evenings are spent looking at blogs and photographs… It’s only four weeks until my trip to Iceland and I’m getting excited about all the amazing activities on offer, such as glacier trekking, dry suit snorkelling and lava tube caving.

The more I look into the things you can do in Iceland the more I come to realise I am not going to pack it all into one trip. Many activities are also dependent on the season; boating around a glacial lake full of icebergs is something you can only do in the summer once the ice has begun to melt. On the other hand visiting in winter means a higher chance of seeing the Northern Lights, which has been a long dreamed of goal of mine.

I have narrowed down my must-do list to the following:

  • Snorkelling at Silfra
  • Riding Icelandic horses
  • A glacier trek
  • Visiting the Blue Lagoon
  • Golden Circle tour (Thingvellir national park, Gullfoss waterfall, and Geysir)
  • Caving through lava tubes
  • Try to find the Northern Lights
  • Explore Reykjavik

This should leave some spare time for the unexpected but allow me to still pack a lot of activities into the week. Please do let me know you recommendations, reviews and link to blogs about Iceland.

I am also appealing for fellow bloggers, casual visitors and stopper-by-ers to recommend their top things to do in Reykjavik, and also to direct me to the places you always wanted to go and find out about in the city. So if there’s a bar you’ve heard about, want to know the opening times of a weird cafe that might serve the fabled rotten shark meat, or a beautiful building that has you searching the net for bargain flights, let me know and I will check it out and report back! I will let you decide how I spend a day in Reykjavik!

All being well with the hotel Wi-Fi I am planning to blog about the day’s adventures in a live travel diary post.

 

Images courtesy of:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/vicmontol/

http://www.flickr.com/photos/poptech/

http://www.flickr.com/photos/dannynic/

With thanks to Pixabay

