Working off xmas excess in the Peak District, England

I started this morning off with a hearty full English breakfast at the comfotable Gables B&B near Matlock in the Derbyshire Peak District. And once loaded up on coffee, I headed down to Cromford Mills to begin a 6k hike starting at the canalside. If you are heading this way there is free parking at the rugby fields just a few yards from the entrance to the wharf, however the pay and display carparks help fund the restoration of the mill buildings if you are visiting the site for a look around.

Despite a terrible weather forecast I was treated to blue skys and light wind, and only a little rain in the afternoon, although a lot of the route was very muddy and boggy. I was lucky to be on high ground considering the aweful coastal storms and flooding the South West and Wales today.

I will be posting details of the walk soon but for now here are a few scenes to enjoy…

image

image

image

image

image

image

